Kwara legislature confirms appointment of 4 additional commissioners

Confusion as Gov. AbdulRazaq withdraws appointment of 24-year-old as  commissioner

The Kwara House of Assembly on Thursday confirmed the appointment of additional four commissioner nominees sent to it by Gov. AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

The News Agency’ of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the House had earlier screened and confirmed five commissioner nominees from various local government areas of the state during previous plenary.

The Speaker, Mr Yakubu Danladi, announced the confirmation of the new four nominees after their screening during Thursday plenary,  which lasted over three hours.

The confirmed commissioner nominees were Hajia Maryam Hassana from Patigi local government area; Ibrahim Sulaiman, Ilorin West; Banigbe Remilekun, Isin; and Arem Deborah, Irepodun local government area.

Meanwhile, the speaker announced the withdrawal of a commissioner nominee from the Edu local government area of the state, Shaba Magret.

He said the commissioner nominee was withdrawn by the governor in a message to the legislature.

In a similar message, AbdulRazaq forwarded Shaba lssa as commissioner nominee to be screened and confirmed from the Edu local government area of the state.

The speaker is yet to mention a date for the screening and confirmation of the new nominee.

NAN reports that nine commissioner nominees had so far been confirmed from nine local government areas out of the existing 16 local government areas of the state. (NAN)

Add Comment