NIGERIA VS LIBYA: Mikel Obi Out, Success And Simon Recalled

Image result for NIGERIA VS LIBYA: Mikel Obi Out, Success And Simon Recalled

Super Eagles Trainer Gernot Rohr, has left out John Obi Mikel and a couple of other regulars for the crunch AFCON 2019 qualifying double-header against Libya.

The 21-man list released contains most of the Super Eagles recent regulars with fresh call ups handed to a few other players.

Inform Arsenal Forward Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Ola Aina, Wilfred Ndidi and Udenise’s William-Troost Ekong tops the list.

Captain John Obi Mikel, Simi Nwankwo and Joel Obi were notable omissions, while in form Watford striker Isaac Success and Levante forward Simon Moses were recalled.

Fresh Call ups were handed to Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux Fc, France), Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany) and Semi Ajayi (Rotherham FC, England).

Nigeria sit third in the group, while Libya leads the pack with Four points from two games.

The first leg will be played at the Godswill Akpabio International stadium in Uyo on Saturday 13th October with the return leg scheduled for the Stade Taïeb Mhiri in Sfax, Tunisia on Tuesday, 16th October.

Both matches are seen as must win for the Eagles as players have been instructed to be in camp by Monday 8th October.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England)

Add Comment