Buhari Swears In 7 New Ministers, Reshuffles Cabinet

Joseph Bakare

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday swore in seven new ministers as he reshuffled his cabinet.


The new ministers were appointed to fill vacancies created by the resignation of former ministers who resigned to pursue their political ambitions for the 2023 general election. Their swearing-in comes barely seven months to the polls.


The event took place shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council Meeting at the Council Chamber.


He urged the new ministerial appointees to consider their emergence as a call to duty that demands diligent service to the nation.


Those sworn in are Henry Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom), Udi Odum (Rivers), Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano), Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo) and Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi).


President Buhari assigned portfolios to the new ministers as follows: Ikoh, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Umana, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Odum, Minister of State, Environment; Adegoroye, Minister of State, Transport.


The others are El-Yakub, Minister of State, Works and Housing; Opiah, Minister of State, Education, and Ekumankama, Minister of State, Health.


He also reassigned some ministers, as follows: Senator Adeleke Mamora, Minister of Science and Technology (formerly Minister of State, Health); Mu’azu Jaji Sambo, Minister of Transportation (formerly Minister of State, Works and Housing); Sharon Ikeazor, Minister of State, Niger Delta (formerly Minister of State, Environment) and Sen. Gbemisola Saraki, Minister of State, Mines and Steel Development (formerly Minister of State, Transportation).

Add Comment